July 24, 2013

  • How has Xanga changed or impacted your life?

    When I was a new mom of twins, I had a LOT of sitting around time to get through!  My nextdoor neighbor, irl, is an artist and told me about her xanga page.  I had never heard of it, but I looked it up and found out that I had to sign up in order to see her page. She had sign in lock on. So I did.  It was one of the best things I ever did, because that’s when I found out how a neighborhood could be right in my computer.

    I made up a name (guestbrief) and signed on.  The first few posts really didn’t get much response but I surfed around the blogrings and groups and found a group called Heartbeat and they were doing a study on depression that just hit the spot for me.  So I started to collect friends and soon I was getting a few comments and even a “rec” once in a while!! I made so many new friends it was amazing! When I was down, they encouraged me. When I was enthusiastic, they cheered with me.  We were neighbors in all but locality.

    Then there was a photo contest page that I enjoyed for a very long time. And there I made new friends that were into photography. I also met saintvi and old hat and attended a few of their legendary “parties”…  Excellent fun when you were stuck in your room because of sickness or whatever.  Two nursing babies was one of my major factors. :)

    Those babies are now 8yo’s and very active and happy. But xanga was a good friend then and still is, though I see people slipping away one by one… 

    I wait with curiosity and some little apprehension to see what really is going to happen at the end of the month. Will xanga 2.0 become a reality? I don’t know. But I will be here, somewhere and I will  be looking for all of you there and soon.

    Blessings! :)

       

    I just answered this Featured Question; you can answer it too!


Comments (8)

  • I’m with you on hoping Xanga stays. I think Xanga helped lower my blood pressure because I can say what’s on my mind in a peaceful way. Sometimes I shout but I guess that helps too.

  • me too on the hope for xanga. Word Press isn’t working out for me, yet. My kids got me started here but they quickly moved on.

  • @rnjennison - Don’t you hate it when that happens? lol  Kids found you a spot and left you to it…. I’ve checked out wordpress too, but it would be quite a bit better if it was xanga there.

  • @mcbery - It’s good to have a place that you feel relaxed enough to let things out. :)

  • I know I’m glad I found you…I nursed my twins too, sometimes I felt just like a jersey cow   ilym

  • Great post.  Like you, I found a new community, a host of new friends here on xanga and a way to journal what was going on in my life. 

  • I could barely walk and was going nuts . One can only watch so much television!Xanga gave me a creative outlet and before long I had made many new friends. We skype and one had lunch with me when he came to Toronto. I would love to get together with more folks.The big thing was it was such fun…it took my mind off of my pain.

  • @Bricker59 - That’s true, it’s fun and it does distract. I’m glad you found xanga too. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.