September 2, 2012

  • These words.....

    ...blessed me this morning.   When I am depressed, Jesus sends me little notes like these:  pay attention to the bold-ed words. :)





    How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord,
    Is laid for your faith in His excellent word!
    What more can He say than to you He hath said—
    To you who for refuge to Jesus have fled?

    “Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed,
    For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
    I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
    Upheld by My gracious, omnipotent hand.

    “When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
    The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
    For I will be with thee thy trouble to bless,
    And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

    “When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
    My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply;
    The flame shall not harm thee; I only design
    Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.

    “The soul that on Jesus doth lean for repose,
    I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
    That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
    I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.”


    Well, maybe the whole song needs to be bold. It was a message and I was encouraged. So you should be too.

    Blessings!!!

    This speaks about that too.....     :)

Comments (21)

  • some churches call them members saints. Isn't that something?

    Hope you had a wonderful sunday,too.

  • Thanks , Rhonda , to share this song filled with faith and hope that confots you and us ;
    lOVE
    Michel

  • @jillcarmel - Yes. but Jill, the Bible calls us saints. :)   (not the kind to be worshipped, but the kind that belong to God)

  • @fauquet - Thank you for the rose!! and the rec. I'm glad you were comforted too. :)

  • @Tempguestbrief - I guess I just find it odd cause in our church it's for those you are so much better then the rest of us. An example to follow but maybe never to become.

  • @jillcarmel - It is a big difference in our churches. Thanks for the good wishes, I do feel much better since I went to church. God met me there. :)   I hope you are having a good day too?

  • How Firm a Foundation is one of many, favorite Christian songs I enjoy. This is the version I grew up on:

    http://youtu.be/fx1UwoKnw68

  • I love that song.  It's very encouraging.

  • @Tempguestbrief - I went to another prayer group with two of my gal friends and when we went to sit there was a packed house and one gal was told that seat is for his wife but she found another, I was told,"that is my seat-that's is my oxygen-I found another seat. Then the last girl found an empty seat and they said,"you can't sit there." I looked around in a bit and I didn't see her. Afterwards I heard the people talking that she was upset and said,"fuck this." and left.

    I told the people outside that she might be one of us and I wasn't mad at her but upset that the group was so unwelcoming. The other gal I went with said that she would call the last girl and find out how she is. I'm not a good christian cause I just said,"I was frustrated myself."

    I will try to sit at our prayer group in a different place each time cause I do claim my seat and everyone knows how I am and I need to be more welcoming to others.

  • @jillcarmel - I'm sorry that some of those ladies were so unwelcoming to you... but it's wonderful that your prayer groups were so well attended! Your friend was probably embarrassed by the way the seemed. How often do you go to prayer groups? The communion service at our church is where the most help came for me yesterday... lots of singing and worship. :)

  • love this song--glad it was an encouragement to you.

  • I used to teach a class called "group dynamics" and people do tend to stack a claim to a seat and try to keep it.  It really bothered them as the class was always seated in a circle and I changed my seat each session.  It is clear that if you change a couple of seats in a room or if people sit in different places you change the dynamics. So, bottom line I would encourage you to keep changing your seat.  @jillcarmel - 

  • @vexations - sorry that should have put blank blank instead of the cuss word on your site

    Well, I did us a different chair today and sat on the other side of the room. I will do it each time and be more welcoming to everyone.

  • @Tempguestbrief - sorry if I used a cuss work and not the blank blank on your site

    hey, I learned to be more welcoming cause sometimes the one who needs love is the hardest to love.

    we meet at the church building tuesday,friday and sunday and we are all denominations. We all believe in God but not the same religion. We share ourselves and it's a safe place.

  • @jillcarmel - That's' wonderful. I am hoping to go to a community bible study starting next week. It's all denominations and just studying the Bible and praying. :)

  • @Tempguestbrief - the one I go to has mostly women my age

    we have a lot in common with each other and it keeps growing. We have some gals who are younger but usually they just drop in and out and I guess cause they are too busy. We are busy to but we make time for it. I go tuesday at 6pm and saturday at 12noon. We had so many who said they wanted to come but they weren't able to be out at night.

    We also have a meeting at 8pm  on friday but it's a small group as is saturday.

  • And many blessings upon you as well.

  • amen! love that song. great words. they don.t write em like that nowadays.

    blessings to you as well.

  • Lovely song...we do not often recognize those who care for us...travelling back from the west coast recently a friend wrote "Drive safely, and may the Saints and Saviour watch over you! "

    On another note, no matter where one goes we sit in the same seats because of routine or habit or security or comfort...this is true of university classes, writing groups, and church, but obviously in the examples above those in their regular seats became  sadly oblivious to the newcomer. interesting experiment to change one's own awareness...sit in a new seat next time in the crowd or assembly!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment